Motivational Monday: The Parable of the Barracuda and Mackerel

Being in sales, both in real estate and direct sales, I am exposed to both positive and negative outlooks on business.  I have signed many consultants over the past 2.5 years I have been in direct sales and I have seen a lot of them go on to other things…and I have noticed a pattern with the ones that leave.

THEY BEGIN THEIR BUSINESSES WITH THE MANTRA: IF THIS DOESN’T WORK OUT, THEN I WILL MOVE ON TO SOMETHING ELSE.  And I must admit that, in the beginning, I said the same thing.  And there have been many times that I have wanted to give up, sell the business and move on.  But the truth is, despite the fact that direct sales is indeed one of the hardest jobs I have ever had, I love it. And I don’t consider the business never working out.  Because really, it has nothing to do with the parties I hold or how much I produce in sales; it has everything to do with my attitude towards my job.  And the mindset for successful salesmen is: Okay, I got a no…now I am one step closer to my yes.

I know how hard it can be.  You have those months where you work so hard and you barely see anything come of it, and you think to yourself “Well, I did tell myself that if it didn’t pan out, I could quit.”  Granting yourself permission to fail from the very beginning doesn’t set you up for success…a positive attitude does.

The world is made of no’s and yes’.  On average it takes 7 no’s to get a yes. I was watching Joel Osteen yesterday, and he mentioned a conditioning study that was done with a barracuda and a spanish mackerel. The two were put into a tank together with a clear plexiglass divider between them.  Of course, the barracuda would see the mackerel and try to attack it and eat it.  But, each day, the barracuda would hit the divider, and was eventually conditioned to believe that no matter how hard he tried, he would smash into the divider and never get to the mackerel.  The researchers eventually took out the divider and wouldn’t you know it, the barracuda never attacked the mackerel.  Because the barracuda was conditioned to think that he could never reach the mackerel, even when the divider was lifted, they lived out their days in peace and harmony. If the barracuda had tried one more time for the “yes,” he would have been rewarded.

That “no” is one step closer to your “yes.” Odds dictate that you WILL get your yes if you try hard enough for the no.  So keep going, keep working, keep the “I am going to take my business, my dreams, and my goals to the next level this year” attitude.  Don’t accept “Oh well, I told myself from the beginning that if it didn’t work out, I could quit.”  If you go for those no’s, you will receive that yes…and at a higher frequency.

Or, you know, you could always be like the barracuda…very hungry.

One thought on “Motivational Monday: The Parable of the Barracuda and Mackerel

  1. Wonderful article!! It is so funny that I found your blog. I also blog, and you might remember, I commented on your Pure Romance article (actually, I asked a question). I have included my website in this comment. I just turned comments off on my blog, but please feel free to email Alex – that is my pen name….

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

