Glory Days: Remembering Freshman Year of College

Today was Convocation at Winthrop, which meant that sometime this afternoon the “blue line” (named for the blue shirts they wear) of freshmen was walking out of Byrnes and on to the front lawn to enjoy the last “full day of summer.”

All I can really remember of freshman year is that I made the first big mistakes of my life, I made some phenomenal friends, and I began the journey to the person that I am today.  I don’t think me 6 years ago (God, has it really been 6 years?) would recognize me…and I do believe that is a good thing.

A snapshot taken of me at Winthrop Lake.

Back in 2006:

  • I was still on the MySpace train.  Some of you kids who were born in the late ’90’s might not even know what MySpace is.  When Facebook first hit the scene, it was for college kids only.  So, of course, I had to get an account because that is all anyone ever talked about was Facebook. Yeah, I wasn’t a fan.  I didn’t like it that I couldn’t customize my page, have music on it, or really see pictures.  Geez, has Facebook come a long way or what?  All I can say is “MySpace?  What is that?”
  • I met this boy during theatre auditions in April before I even came to Winthrop. I fell head over heels in puppy love with him.  Most of my freshman year, I attempted to pursue him.  But he was always doing something, not to mention I had a boyfriend at the beginning of the year (not making a good case for myself am I?) but even when said boyfriend and I called it off, it never panned out because crush boy was too thick to get that I liked him.  Of course, he would tell me down the road he liked me as well and I was the thick one. Go figure. Ultimately, though, thick/stupid crush boy turned out to be a very close and still current friend of mine.  Funny how life works.

Reading while I wait for my turn on stage in the Spring One Acts

  • I was in an improvisation troupe called Improv This.  I think the best nights of my life came out of this group of people.  We would gather in Johnson Hall (the theatre building) around 10:30/11 at night and act out random scenes…most of which resulted in inside jokes and hurting sides from laughing so hard.  Afterwards, we would all go out to Denny’s (now it’s some humdrum diner that wishes it were Denny’s) and have fourth meal.  Our little group would stay out until about 2 in the morning, and I would have to be up for class at 8 AM.  I gained a ton of weight that year, but those Thursday nights were beyond worth it.

Just noticed I am duck facing. It must be a phase.

  • I was a music student, and began my voice tutelage under the notorious John Fowler.  That year, I would cope with knowing what hard work really was.  In Lancaster, I was the best singer at my high school. Most people know that phrase, “big fish/little pond.” It became painfully clear early on I was going to have to work hard if I wanted any respect from my teachers in the music department.  I learned that no matter how good you think you are, there is always going to be someone better. You just need to work so much harder than the person who thinks they are the best.
  • You have not lived until you have gotten food poisoning from the school cafeteria.  What did me in? A bad turkey sandwich.  I tried having Ramen noodles that night…never again.

Playing another Improv game…I am just shocked at how young we all look. You should see Ryan (the guy in the blue shirt) now. Hardly the kid, quite a man. 🙂

  • I realized that year that musical theatre was going to be a hard path to travel down when I auditioned and received a chorus role in Oklahoma! The rehearsal process was ten times grueling for the chorus kids than it was the leads.  Made some great friends along the way, mainly us bonding over the fact that we hated the show.  It came out beautifully, though. And I feel that if I had the chance to do it all over again, I totally would.

Ironic the title of the play I am reading…

So, I wish all the returning students a happy first week of school.  From a 24 year old to you…life is too short.  Relish it while you are still young.

For Kicks and Giggles…A Survey I Took 5 Years Ago Almost to the Day on Myspace(Cue Twilight Zone music) And just in case any of you were wondering what my mood was that day?  Sleepy. Like I am now.

I AM:an ecclectic, eccentric, funloving girl
I WANT:a sausage egg and cheese croissant
I HAVE: all my stuff packed for school
I HATE: ingenuine people
I MISS: being able to sleep at night
I HEAR: the computer whirring
I REGRET: not being able to meet new people easier
I LOVE: my family and friends
I AM ALWAYS: thinking
I AM NOT: who i am not
I DANCE: when i hear great music
I SING: all the time
I CRY: when i’m seriously angry or sad, never when i’m hurt
I NEED TO LEARN: how to speak french
I SHOULD: go take a shower right about now…oh well

[YES OR NO, YOU]
1. KEEP A DIARY: yes
2. KEEP A JOURNAL?: yes, isn’t that the same?
3. SET YOUR WATCHES A FEW MINUTES AHEAD: no
4. BITE YOUR FINGERNAILS: yes, trying to get out of that
5. BELIEVE IN LOVE: yes

[DO YOU]
1. HAVE A/ANY CRUSH(ES): no
2. THINK YOU KNOW YOU’VE BEEN IN LOVE: yes
3. TATTOOS: no, after college maybe
4. PIERCINGS: yes, 5 of them

[WHEN YOU SEE THIS NAME YOU THINK OF…]
RYAN: peppy
DOUG: beer gut
WILL: orlando…hell yeah
JOHN: garfield
ALEX: bisexual
VICTORIA:anything tim burton
JOSH:football
SCOTT: tell scott i said hey

[IN THE LAST 48 HOURS, HAVE YOU..]
CRIED?: no
HELPED SOMEONE?: yes
BOUGHT SOMETHING?: yes
GOTTEN SICK?: no
GONE TO THE MOVIES?: no
GONE OUT FOR DINNER?: yes
SAID “I LOVE YOU”?: many i love you’s
WRITTEN A REAL LETTER?: yes
TALKED TO AN EX?: no…well. yeah, kind of
WRITTEN IN A JOURNAL?: no
MISSED SOMEONE?: everyone
HUGGED SOMEONE?: yes
FOUGHT WITH YOUR PARENTS?: more like bickering
FOUGHT WITH A FRIEND?: No

[WOULD YOU EVER..]
1. EAT A BUG?: ate ants
2. BUNGEE JUMP?: maybe
3. HANG GLIDE?: another maybe, what’s with the heights related stuff?
4. KILL SOMEONE?: never
5. HAVE SEX WITH SOMEONE YOU DON’T LOVE?: never
6. PARACHUTE FROM A PLANE?: maybe
7. WALK ON HOT COALS?: no
8. GO OUT TO EAT WITH A COMPLETE STRANGER?: of course
9. GO OUT WITH SOMEONE FOR THEIR REPUTATION?: nuh uh
10. BE A VEGETARIAN?: i love meat
11. WEAR PLAID WITH STRIPES?: ewww?
12. SAY IM A STRANGER: no
13. SING KAROKE?: been there, done that
14. RUN A RED LIGHT?: it wasn’t my fault…
15. DYE YOUR HAIR BLUE?: all of it? then no
16. BE ON SURVIVOR?: yeah, i could do that
17. MAKE SOMEONE CRY?: i’ve done it before…
18. KICK A BABY?: crazy person! no! poor baby
19. STAY UP ALL THROUGH THE NIGHT?: yeah

[THE LAST PERSON WHO..]
1. SLEPT IN THE SAME BED WITH YOU?: matt, he works the late shift, he’ll fall asleep anywhere
2. SAW YOU CRY?: matt
3. MADE YOU CRY?: matt, darn you!
4. WENT TO THE MOVIES WITH?: anna
5. WENT TO DINNER/LUNCH WITH: mom
6. YOU TALKED ON THE PHONE WITH?:matt
7. SAID “I LOVE YOU” TO YOU AND REALLY MEANT IT?: mom
8. MADE YOU LAUGH?: anna

[WOULD YOU RATHER]
1. PIERCE YOUR NOSE OR TONGUE?: nose
2. BE SERIOUS OR FUNNY?:funny
3. DRINK WHOLE OR SKIM MILK?: skim
4. DIE IN A FIRE OR DROWN? drown
5. SPEND TIME WITH YOUR PARENTS OR YOUR ENEMIES?: parents all the way

[DO YOU PREFER]
1. FLOWERS OR CANDY?: candy
2. GREY OR BLACK?: Black
3. COLOR OR BLACK&WHITE PHOTOS?: black and white
4. PINK OR PURPLE?: purple
5. SUNRISE OR SUNSET?: sunrise
6. STAYING UP LATE OR WAKING UP EARLY?: staying up

[ANSWER TRUTHFULLY]
1. DO YOU LIKE ANYONE?: yes
2. DO THEY KNOW IT?: yes
3. DO THEY LIKE YOU?: yes

[IN THE LAST MONTH, HAVE YOU]
1. HAD A BF/GF?: yes
2. BOUGHT SOMETHING?: Yes
3. SANG?: yes
4. GOTTEN HIGH?: homey don’t play that
5. DANCED CRAZY?: yes
6. GOTTEN YOUR HAIR CUT?: yes
7. CRIED?: yeah…
8. LIED?: only a little
9. SNUCK OUT OF YOUR HOUSE?: nah, that’s no fun

What are some memories you have of college?  Have a funny roommate?  Do something crazy?  Remember that moment that defines you as a person now?  I would love to hear about them!

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

