Embracing My Inner Carrie Bradshaw

This is going to be one of those “put your big girl panties on and get it over with” posts.  Even though I have been running this blog on my own, I have had infinite help and support from my boyfriend, Ryan.  He has been so good to me, and I will not divulge the reasons of our parting.  However, we have decided to amicably go our separate ways.  It was a hard decision to make, but I feel in the long run, this will actually have a positive impact on both of our lives and our relationship. Ryan is a good man, a dedicated friend, and a loving person. And we hope to continue our friendship for the future.   That’s all I will say about that.

So, moving on to less sad things, I am struggling to figure out what this new life has in store for me.  I have been in a committed relationship for the past 3 years, ever since college.  Before that, I was in a relationship for 2 years and previous to that my high school relationship that lasted 4 years.  My family has affectionately dubbed me the “serial monogamist.”  I have never really been single.  Ever.  What the hell is wrong with me?  Well, nothing, really.  I think I am just one of those girls that doesn’t stay single very long.  Not to toot my own horn, but I can cook, have a job, clean up after myself, and I am potty trained (okay, that was a joke).  I am also a supportive partner, a romantic, and like to do nice things for whoever I am with.  It’s just how I am wired.  And I think that is why I don’t stay single for very long.

Channeling my inner Carrie Bradshaw for a while…

So, I am really just needing a little help from you, my readers.  Without putting a real label on myself, what are some things I should definitely try now that I have some time for myself? Of course, you know I have really been getting on sprucing up the apartment.  For kicks and giggles, I looked up Carrie’s bachelorette pad.  NOW I remember why I painted my walls this crazy blue! The woman was indeed my muse.

My living room Symphony in Blue….

Now, here’s Carrie’s apartment.

Look familiar?

So in love with the photo wall…

I would kill for an apartment like this in Manhattan. I heard the filming apartment for the SNTS character actually sold for $9.65 million!

And, last one for envy’s sake…a rare and beautiful glimpse of the floorplan for this apartment.  Am I the only floorplan geek in the world?  Anyone!  Please shout out to floorplans in the comments.  🙂

Courtesy of crushable.com

Here’s what has happened so far in my one week of being single…

  • I have thrown myself into my career and I will be attending my first closing with my mom hopefully this coming Monday for a couple we have been working with for the past few months. I have really learned the ins and outs, the ups and downs from this process alone.  Who knows what I will learn from the rest of my mother’s clients…
  • I am attempting to learn guitar.  Right now, all I can play are two chords: E and G, but they are brilliant!  Hopefully will be jamming out very soon.
  • Loving my blog even more than ever.  This week alone has been hard, and channeling my emotions into something  productive and seems to brighten people’s days means a lot.
  • Hanging out with friends.  Right now, I am traveling back from visiting my baby sister in Charleston, and I intend to reconnect with some fabulous people over the week.

Have the ultimate single girl experience?  I am up for hearing about it.  It’s now or never for me. Or even want to give shout outs to your favorite single girls (real or fictitious)?

4 thoughts on “Embracing My Inner Carrie Bradshaw

  1. Your living room looks great! You should start a big project that may take months, when I was laid off of work I was soooo bored with all of my free time and depressed about not working that I decided to redecorate my entire room with all new things.

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

