The Best Bar None: Cabinet Redo

Home searches are hard.  I am never going to sugar coat that.  When I was 21, still in college, and on a teeny-tiny budget, I decided I was going to buy my first house.  My mom, as you all know, is one of the best realtors in South Carolina and originally wanted me to take a look at this 800 square foot condo.  I refused, mainly because 800 square feet sounded so small compared to the 1200-1500 square footers I was really in the market to see.  Well, those bigger houses came with bigger problems, a higher mortgage payment, and in areas that were way outside of where I wanted to be.

So, as a last ditch attempt, mom brought to her original pick. I was kicking and screaming…okay, maybe not kicking and screaming but a good bit of harrumphing was to be had by all (including mom, she was getting frustrated with my high expectations).  We pulled up in front of the condo that is now lovingly dubbed The Treehouse, and as soon as we stepped into the living room, I fell in love with the wet bar that was already set up. It was like this condo was made for me and my wine-o tendencies.

Before

After purchasing the house, I fully intended to revamp this beauty and bring it out of the ’80’s, along with the bathroom and the mirror in the kitchen. Along the way, other projects took precedence and my poor little bar, the real reason I bought The Treehouse in the first place was neglected.  Fast forward three years, and I decided to finally get to it and revamp it.

I am not going to go into full details on sanding and priming, the basic instructions and tools…those can be found here. But I will talk about the process with the cabinets themselves.

Step 1: Take all the doors and drawers out, wipe them down with a wet cloth, sand them, and wipe off any residue with a dry cloth.

Step 2: Prime, dry, and then flip the cabinet over to prime and dry again.

Step 3: While all this is going on, be sure to prime, dry, and paint the drawers as well as the cabinet itself.  For this, I used two thin coats of paint that I had leftover from my kitchen cabinet painting.

Step 4: Follow suit with the doors.  Make sure everything stays smooth, be stingy with the paint.  You don’t want to overdo it and get an uneven texture.

Step 5: If the mood takes you, you can also change out the cabinet hardware for an inexpensive upgrade. I went by Home Depot and picked up some great drawer pulls for next to nothing.

Courtesy of The Home Depot
Liberty New Traditional Cabinet Hardware-$2.49 a knob

Courtesy of The Home Depot
French Romantics New Traditional Cabinet Hardware Pull- $3.48 a pull

And voila! You have a brand-spanking new cabinet for the fraction of the price!

Project Time:5 hours

Project Cost:  Paint and Primer FREE

Drawer Knobs and Pulls $11.94

Have a great furniture refurbish you want to share?  Have any questions? Want to share what you did with your little slice of Heaven called glorious fall weather this weekend? I want to hear about it!

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

