My Little Gallery


Since the new arrangement of my living room, I have been staring at this wall that used to take up the fireplace.  Since then, I have set my new IKEA mirror on the wall, but it still looked empty.  Luckily, I was able to come into an inheritance of some picture frames my parents were simply going to give to Goodwill.   You know my saying: One person’s trash is my treasure.

I am not a fan of brown frames, but, hey that’s what spray paint is for! I picked up a can of Rustoleum and got to it Friday night after work.  I let the frames dry over night, retouched them Saturday morning, and they were as good as gold by the afternoon…err they’re black aren’t they, so coal? Maybe? Eh, I am going to have to work on my metaphor.

I know this is common knowledge, but make sure that you have some form of protection around whatever you’re spraying so you don’t get paint everywhere.  Spray paint especially has a bad habit of getting all over everything in the spraying vicinity.

Once the frames were finished, it was time to put in some artwork I had found on the internet.  I just printed it off and inserted them in the frames.  The effect is perfect.


Olive juice is an inside joke I have with a friend of mine, and I just love the cutesy take on the phrase.  And you know of my owl obsession…these little guys all dressed up for fall, enjoying a slice of pumpkin pie were just irresistable.

My art gallery is currently very Fall inspired.  The cool thing about print offs is that you can change them out as often as you want for cheap.  I had to include my current favorite song “I Won’t Give Up” by Jason Mraz in the mix.

So much better, don’t you think?  Over time I will be adding frames and changing out the art, but it really does add some interest to the walls.  Best part? This project cost me a can of spray paint and that’s all!

Have any great wall art ideas?  I would love to see/hear about them.  Link up your blogs and your pinterest accounts.  I am always looking for new inspiration.

2 thoughts on “My Little Gallery

  1. Oh, my GOD! I love it, love it, love it!!! I just love your printables! Where did you get them? I’d love to make a small gallery like this in our bathroom, but my husband is becoming claustrophobic with the artwork that is already up. Oh, well! Guess that just means we need a bigger space! 😉 Your gallery is wonderful, Morgan.

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

