What Moves Me: Karaoke Nights

If you’ve ever seen My Best Friend’s Wedding, you can probably remember that scene where Julia Roberts makes Cameron Diaz sing “I Just Don’t Know What to Do with Myself.”  I was probably 10 when I saw that movie for the first time, and, up until the age of 22 I longed to find a karaoke bar and sing at the top of my lungs and get applauded.  Even if I did sound like total crap.  That’s the beauty of karaoke…you may not be very good, but the more drunk the crowd gets, the better you sound.

My karaoke virginity was lost usually the same way everyone’s is in this kind of situation…I was buzzed, feeling bold, and decided to sing the absolute most difficult, and therefore, most horrendous song in the catalog, “Listen” by Beyonce.  Lucky for all of you, I have video of the harrowing incident here. Go figure that I go out on a competition night and get filmed performing the worst I have ever publicly sung. Needless to say, I did not win the competition. If you actually mute me, I kind of look awesome, rock star, even. The good news about being bad out of the gate is that you can only get better over time.  I was encouraged by my Baxter friends, who originally brought me out every Friday night.  I gained confidence, and where I used to shake like a chihuahua in 65 degree weather, I am not able to stand up and just “do it already.” It’s very enlightening and freeing experience singing in front of a crowd who is staring right back at you.  And, by the way, imagining them in their underwear to get over the stage fright does not work, just makes you giggle. I actually went on to win a karaoke competition last Summer. Again, the audio is not fantastic, but quite the improvement over the first time.

The karaoke company that I have been following around for the past 2 years is Chubby’s Karaoke. Based out of Charlotte, they have been dominating the entertainment market since 1989.  To be around that long and thriving, you HAVE to be the best at what you do. And they are!  They have quite the following.  Each bar that Chubby’s caters to is going to be a little different.  Each KJ has their own strengths, but every show brings the awesome each and every night.  Follow them on Facebook here to see where there is a CK show near you!

This post is dedicated to all my karaoke friends.  Going to my usual haunts, I feel like I am coming home.  It’s like hanging out with your crazy cousins, aunts, and uncles after a wack-a-doo family reunion.  Fun times to be had by all.  You have challenged me, encouraged me, helped me grow up, and teased me tirelessly into the person I am now.  Not afraid of much, ready to “get my sang on” in the words of my friend Holly, and always ready for a good time.  Well, gotta go.  The KJ just called my name. 🙂

TOP OVERDONE SONGS IN KARAOKE

  1. Summer Nights from Grease
  2. Rolling in the Deep by Adele
  3. Don’t Stop Believin’ by Journey
  4. Friends in Low Places by Garth Brooks
  5. Love Shack by B52’s
  6. Paradise by the Dashboard Light by Meatloaf
  7. Sweet Home Alabama by Lynard Skynard
  8. Livin’ on a Prayer by Bon Jovi
  9. Ice, Ice Baby by Vanilla Ice
  10. I Go Walking After Midnight by Patsy Cline
4 thoughts on “What Moves Me: Karaoke Nights

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

