Cool Night Quick Meal: Falling for You Veggie Soup

How nuts is this weather, guys?  On Saturday I was wearing a SUNDRESS!  Now I am currently bundled up with the electric fireplace on, contemplating having a cup of cocoa before bed.  Hurray that Fall is officially here!  Over the weekend, I got a few great nutrition tips from my cousin Melanie, who is am integrative holistic health coach who knows a thing a two about what’s going on with the human body.  What does she do?  She actually offers strategies for taking care of yourself beyond what the media is telling us about “just pop the pills; you’ll feel better” approach.  She was able to bring her great “you are what you eat” approach to the table for my family and I to sample this past weekend.  I will not give her age away, but guys, she looks (damn) good for a mother of three.  So I have no other choice than to believe that whatever she is doing is working (well, that and the Buchanan clan just can’t make an ugly kid, am I right Mel?)

Dude, eating your fruits and veggies works. My cousin is living proof. By the way, fellas, she is married. Yes, happily. No, she doesn’t have a sister. lol

One thing I learned from her over the weekend is that we have been mislead in believing the dairy products are the only source of calcium.  Believe me, I was enlightened.  I had no idea more viable sources can be found in nuts and greens.  As we get older, and, correct me if I am wrong, Mel, because I am running on three hours of sleep at this point, that dairy calcium enforces our bones with a more brittle structure and nuts and greens actually provide a calcium that makes our bones more bendable in old age, making them more impervious to breakage.  I thought this was phenomenal.  I am going to have to interview my gorgeous, talented cousin a little more on holistic health, but for right now, I will leave you with an EPIC recipe that I found on fitnessmagazine.com and tweaked for you to enjoy on cooler nights and get all your nutrients in.

Bon Appetit, ya’ll.

Falling for You Veggie Soup

  • 1 chopped onion
  • 1/2 teaspoon basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon thyme
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 2 14 1/2 ounce cans diced tomatoes
  • 4 cups low-sodium vegetable broth
  • 2 sweet potatoes, diced
  • 2 small white potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 2 cups low sodium beef broth
  • 3 1/2 cups chopped or torn kale
  • 1/2 pound frozen green beans, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 2 15 ounce cans white beans, drained and rinsed

Pop all ingredients into a slow cooker for 8 hours.  Enjoy the fruits of your labor along with a corn muffin.  The bee’s knees, I cannot lie.

Courtesy of fitnessmagazine.com

For Melanie’s Facebook page, click here. You will learn a lot!

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

