Look At This Stuff, Isn’t It Neat?

Happy Monday before Thanksgiving, everyone!  This weekend was very eventful with my very first dinner party and my sister and I going down to Florida to participate in the Run for Your Lives 5K.  I am excited to share the photos with you all, but today we are going to pop by the guest room for a quick update.  With everything that has been going on, and me having to leave my little fur baby Mads home over the past few weeks, I haven’t been able to do too many home updates.  But this little art project only spanned a few short hours, and cost me only $0.99 to make.  Another Pinterest project, I actually got the inspiration from an Etsy artist, FiddleHeadsforFiona.

She works with paper collage and all that you see here is totally collaged; no paint.  I decided I was going to put a creative spin on my art pieces.  I am not a Cricut user by any means, so I stuck to a book for the backdrop and acrylic paint for the foreground.

You Will Need:

  • A book you have no problem parting with (I went to Goodwill and bought a copy of Eat, Pray, Love, one of my absolute favorite books of all time, since I couldn’t bear to part with my original copy that I bought in San Francisc0)
  • Canvas base
  • Mod-Podge
  • Acrylic paint

I have had these canvases sitting in my closet practically since I moved in to the Treehouse.  Originally, I was going to create a 4 seasons art piece, but due to my crazy colors in the living room, the idea didn’t really pan out.  So I dragged these unsung heros out of the closet and put two of them to work.

Maddie loves to help me craft as well…or at least pretends to while she hides my paint brushes.  Seriously, when I move I will find a Michael’s craft store worth of paint brushes hiding somewhere ambiguous.

I placed the pages on the canvas first before I actually adhered them to make sure that everything lined up.  Afterwards, I covered the canvas in Mod-Podge and used a dry paint brush to smooth the pages over it from top to bottom so that wrinkles and bubbles didn’t develop too much.  After the first coat dried, I went over the top of the pages with the Mod-Podge to create a glossy finish and preserve the pages for the painting.

After everything dried, I cut around the edges of the canvas so that the excess paper wasn’t hanging off.  You can use scissors, but I wish I had used an exacto knife instead.  You will get a smoother edge that way.\

Designing the actual painting was easy after I figured out the theme I was going to use.  The beauty of this project is that most of it materialized in my head while I was down in Myrtle Beach with my family last weekend.  I had inspiration all around!  I used song lyrics from “Beyond the Sea” by Bobby Darin and “Mermaid” by Train.

I am keeping with my color scheme for this room: grey, yellow, and ocean blue.  I am loving how great these two pieces turned out.

And here they are together, looking simply beautiful and covering up the “dead space” on the wall.  Pretty sweet!

I apologize for the slight mess in the room.  Right now the guest room is the catch-all room for a few projects I am working on. The two wooden pieces are going to be my next project.  My downstairs neighbor is having their kitchen renovated, and they were throwing out perfectly good cabinets.  Can’t wait to share with you all what I will be using them for.  And yes, that is a cork wreath. I need about 50 more corks by the holidays.  Anyone want to help a poor wino out?

What Pinterest challenges have you accepted lately?  Is it a new recipe? A home project? A gift for a friend?  I want to hear about it! Comment below!

One thought on “Look At This Stuff, Isn’t It Neat?

  1. Pingback: Day 3: Mass Media | Living Young & Wild & Free

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

