Out with the Old…Oh, Yeah and I Am Giving Away Some Stuff!

Happy New Year, everyone. I hope you all had a lovely/exciting/quiet/fun New Year’s Eve. Hardly feels like much has changed. And, really, it hasn’t. This morning I woke up hangover free (a major improvement over last year), and I have the urge to get to organizing my life. As of right now it is…11:00 AM. Which gives me approximately 4 hours to start what I hope will be the first of a very successful, very streamlined year.

I am not making a resolution here, but I have noticed over the past few years I really haven’t made much of a good-faith effort to keep my life together. We all start off the new year with resolutions, and well-meaning goals of “doing better” whether it comes to weight, business, or bad habits. But if you really don’t have a plan, chances are those resolutions pop back up the very next year and you are back to square one. My house is a mess! I will openly admit it, and shout it from the rooftops! Anyone else with me? I will even follow it up with: my office is a mess, my car is a mess, and even sometimes I am one big hot mess. I feel that if I actually got off my keester (yeah, that word will start sweeping the nation again just because of me) and actually put some of these plans I have been putting off into action, I will have a little bit more control over my life.

I am Morgan's Shame

I am Morgan’s Shame

So, this week, I am launching the Streamline My Life blog series, where I will be documenting the mess and how I am handling it. The only way to make sure a plan goes through is to have some accountability, right? So, here goes nothing. I am going to tackle my over-cluttered 850 square-foot Treehouse (with love of course). Wish me luck!

Day One: Cleaning Out the Closets
Day Two: Kitchen Ala Clean
Day Three: Media Storage
Day Four: From Bathroom Blah to Love Your Spa
Day Five: I Think Something in Your Drawer Just Bit Me
Day Six: Bills, Bills, Bills
Day Seven: Sweet Ride
Day Eight: Office Space

And a few linky-lous to kick it all off!

Declutter for a Fresh Start


Modern Parents Messy Kids


Young House Love’s Guide to Cleaning and Organizing

Anyone else up for the Streamline My Life Challenge? Post in the comments below your plans to declutter and streamline your place under the title “Streamline Me” and you could win a free Home Organizer. One entry per person!

6 thoughts on “Out with the Old…Oh, Yeah and I Am Giving Away Some Stuff!

  1. I’ve been working on decluttering and cleaning during my break from grad school. Working full-time + school = one messy house. The little pink house is looking a lot better than it did before break, but getting rid of clutter has forced me to re-evaluate the value I place in objects and the meanings I attach to said objects. I would say that it’s a work-in-progress, but the truth is, as I change and grow, it’s important for me to get rid of the stuff that weighs me down.

  2. Pingback: Day One: Cleaning Out the Closet | Living Young & Wild & Free

  3. I’m working on it one drawer at a time! I get overwhelmed with all of the crap in my house and trying to clean up after 2 monkeys, a Grizzly Bear, and an indestructible dog. That and teaching 8th grade? I’ve learned to take small steps! My focus right now is my hall closet which is being repurposed as a linen and stockpile closet. Of course, I have to get all of my scrapbooking out of there, but one day at a time….

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

