Mason Jar Luminaries

Hey, guys. I know I was supposed to be giving you the update on the media center, and this is the best I can do right now:

winter20123 004

Truth be told, it is simply laziness. But I honestly busted my behind at work today (I am seeing a pattern here, hm) and I didn’t get home until 6:45. Mom and I announced that we are becoming a real estate team, and I finally got to tell everyone “Hey, I am a realtor!” After getting home from Plato’s (where I made $17 off my designer duds) and Lowe’s, dinner was made and American Horror Story Asylum had to be watched (by the way, great episode). By the time I was washing up after dinner, it was 8 o’clock.

The good news is that I have knocked out the side nails from when the cabinets were back in the kitchen, and I have the top neatly hammered onto them, so they look more streamlined for a start. I will sand them down and prime them over the weekend, don’t worry about that. My big fail of this project: I requested the wrong-sized shelving. It came in about a quarter of an inch short, so back to the drawing board I suppose. I will have to find a fun little project for the $4 shelves I ruined. Ideas anyone?

What I want to talk about today is something I have been putting off for a while, but this serves as a lovely winter decorating idea you can keep up beyond Christmas…mason jar luminaries.

winter2012 009

Look how cute they are hanging from my porch. Yes, I still have my holiday decorations up, don’t judge. I have until Sunday to get them down. It is sometimes difficult having this much stuff to do, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. But I digress. Back to the luminaries. Thanks to a wicked awesome idea to make my own apple pie moonshine as gifts for my friends and family for Christmas, I had a few extra mason jars hanging around-oh, I crack myself up!

winter2012 002

I took the lid off the jar, and wrapped fishing wire around the top, just under the lip.

winter2012 003

Don’t mind my crafting jammies. They may look like they’ve seen better days, but man, are they comfy. Once the line was knotted and secure, I made loops to create a little hanger for the jar. I knotted this several times, as well.

winter2012 004

As great as this was, I was a little worried about the jar falling down during high winds, so I secured the line with the jar lid simply being screwed back on top.

winter2012 005

I am glad to announce that there have yet to be any mason jar casualties despite the crazy weather we’ve been having here in the South (seriously, Dallas, Texas got snow, but none here? What gives?)

winter2012 001

Here is one hanging from the rafter over my front door. It’s beautiful. Repeat the process as many times as you like to create a lit doorway for the whole of winter!

winter2012 007

Plop a few tea lights in for the extra sparkle.

I will see you all on Monday! Have a great relaxing and productive weekend. Or do like I wish i could do and lounge about in your jim-jams all day.

Any plans for the weekend? Projects? Trips? Lounging about? Comment and I will be sure to check out your blog and do the same! And, please share this with the world if you love it! I ain’t to proud to beg for shares. Huge bear hugs in advance.

4 thoughts on “Mason Jar Luminaries

      • I wonder if other jars would work. Spaghetti sauce maybe? Although the bonus with your is the rings from the canning jars. If I could find them at a garage sale, it would be a neat project to try!

      • You could hang spaghetti jars, but you would want to use wire instead of fishing line. Fishing line tends to stretch and that’s why I “put a lid on it” with the ring on the canning jar. Can’t really do that with a spaghetti sauce jar for obvious reasons #thislittlelightofminejustdied

        lol

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

