Product Review: Just Dance 4

Courtesy of Amazon.com

Courtesy of Amazon.com

Hello, everyone! Almost at the weekend, which means it’s time for me to throw a product review out there so you guys can try something awesome during your days off. Santa brought me a Wii for Christmas, and while that would be excitement enough for me, it also came with Just Dance 4. Despite popular belief from my Lucky Lou’s friends who have only seen me do the wobble, I am a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad dancer.

However, if you put a “teacher” in front of me and I practice up a little bit, I am not that bad at all. Dance games just do it for me. So when I got the newest of the Just Dance games, I was happier than a kid in a candy store. Or more like happier than an uncoordinated spaz getting lessons from Fred Astaire.

Once Tim and I had the Wii console set up, he picked the hardest dance challenge on there for me. It featured a robot, and he decided to record me performing it on the first try. Don’t worry, guys, whenever he decides to release it to the world, you will see it first here. Tim seemed to think it was HIGH-larious. I actually think he’s keeping it for blackmail purposes. Once the boy went home, however, I picked a few of the easier ones and they were fun and easy to follow.

I have been using Just Dance 4 as a supplement to my workouts, and I usually do it in the afternoons when I come home from work. There are two separate modules now: the first is Just Dance and the second is Just Sweat. I have been working in the Just Sweat quite a bit and I am very pleased. The Just Sweat offers you three different times on each “workout” 10 minutes, 25 minutes, and 45 minutes with a warm up and a cool down. My favorite so far is the Cheerleader Bootcamp that includes songs by Pink! and Anja. The Just Sweat mode is wonderful, because it pairs you with a personal trainer character that matches the theme of the module you’re in. The Cheerleader Bootcamp for instance features a trainer that is girly but also is clad in camo pants and a pompadour haircut. She guides you through the warm up routine, afterwards it gives you a song to dance to from the game, and then the trainer comes back with a more intense routine, and so on and so forth.

Image Courtesy of workout-routines.tv

Image Courtesy of workout-routines.tv

I have heard complaints about not being able to choose the songs you dance to in the Just Sweat mode, but it really doesn’t bother me at all. I am getting the workout of my life on this game! The game also gives you the estimated calories you burn during each workout, so it’s great if you want to keep track. Like the Just Dance mode, it will allow you to level up and complete challenges, so it feels like I am doing much more than just working out. The other routines I have tried have been the Aerobics in Space (featuring an ’80’s style trainer and a lot of ponying about while flailing your arms) and Electro Body Combat (the trainer sounds Bulgarian and I have never had more fun punching and kicking). I come off all of these mere 25 minute workouts sweating more than when I do P90-X or Zumba. I also notice that I smile a lot while I am doing it. Can’t beat those health benefits.

If the Just Dance mode is more your speed, you will absolutely love the music this edition of the game has rolled out. What other game could you dance to Carly Rae Jepson’s “Call Me Maybe” and Rocky Horror Show’s “Time Warp?” By the way, they really beefed up the jump to the left and step to the right; not for the faint of heart. My favorite song on there so far, oddly enough, is Jennifer Lopez featuring Pitbull’s “On the Floor.” I mastered it in 3 rehearsals. Not bad, if I do say so myself.

The benefits of advancing are pretty sweet. You can unlock new songs, new dance cards, and some sweet dance-offs as well as mash-ups. I also love the storylines they include in the songs, however cheesey. “Call Me Maybe” features a little introduction bit with a cell phone. I am amused, just the same! The graphics are great, there isn’t a song on there I am dreading to dance to, and I honestly let my hair down and spaz out for 25 minutes to an hour after work. I give this two thumbs up! I am already itching for the next one to come out!

By the way, this item is at the Redbox, so if you want to try it before you buy it, go for it. Just beware of camera phones!

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

