Board to Death: The Making of a Zombie

I have been meaning to work on this post for a while, mainly because now that December 21, 2012 has passed the end MUST be nigh now! And we must gather up our bee-bee guns and train with all that we have! Okay, maybe nothing that intense, but, let’s be honest: who doesn’t want a zombie hanging out in their back yard just waiting on someone to shoot at them? That’s what I thought (crosses arms and nods head like a tough guy). I actually got the idea of making my Dad a zombie target while I was in the shower one morning (my best ideas come in the shower), and I was pondering on what else I could get the man who has everything. He’s not hard to please, I swear, which is why some years, he gets the short end of the stick. I really wanted to go something awesome for him, and this beautiful creation is what popped into my head.

There are very few things in this world that my dad loves more than drinkin’ a lil drink, smokin’ a little smoke, and shootin’ things from the back porch. For the longest time, we would just set up soda cans and bottles. That was fine, but sometimes running out to pick them off the ground gets old fast. Dad and I have a “double tap” joke spanning back to when we watched Zombieland together a few years ago. And that’s when it hit me…a zombie target!

I went straight to Home Depot that afternoon, and bought a 2 X 4 piece of plywood for under $15. Needing a zombie pattern, I found these two handsome gents on the internet, and used them as my basic idea.

zombietarget

zombietarget2

I incorporated them, by using the body of one and the point system of the other.

121812163732

I free-handed the drawing, but you could always get a projector to place the pattern on the piece of wood. Then you could easily trace it.

121812163743

Here’s a close-up of the head area. Watch out for splinters when using plywood. I recommend sketching with a small piece of paper under your hand, or else you might get stuck by splinters. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

After the sketching was complete, I went over the outline with black paint. I used exterior acrylic paint, but it was very “goopy” and a little too thick for the plywood. This can be watered down a little. The plywood will soak up a lot of the paint, so make sure you have a little extra on hand.

121912185354

The overall project did not take too long. From sketch to the final touches, I believe it took me around 3 hours. The project itself only cost $15, if that, but it was more than worth it in the long run.

zombiedad2

Dad loved the gift, and we spent part of Christmas Day shooting at it. A word of warning about the plywood. Set the target back at least 20 feet away from the house. Even with the target being right on the treeline of our house, we still had bee-bees ricocheting off the board and coming back to hit us. They didn’t hurt, but if you shoot closely at the plywood you literally could “shoot your eye out.” I am just sayin.’

What homemade gifts have you given loved ones? Have a special gift that someone made for you? I want to hear about it. Leave a comment and I will come visit your blog just to say hi! Who knows, if you follow me, I can follow you too!

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

