Product Review: Rent the Runway

The Gala was a roaring success!  My “little” I Love You to the Moon and Back painting ended up making $120 for arts education in Lancaster.  The room was packed Saturday night, and everyone looked fabulous, including me!  Being a tee shirt and jeans kind of girl, I really wanted something that would stand out amongst the crowd.  But I also didn’t want to break the bank on a dress that I could really only wear once.  It was like a sign from the heavens whenever I received an email from RenttheRunway.com for a $50 voucher that could go towards a rental.  For those of you who don’t know what RTR is, it’s a way of renting designer dresses and accessories that normally go for $250+ for an event, and most of the rentals are under $100.  Pretty sweet, guys, you have my attention.  I popped online to check out the deals, and I found this gorgeous dress by Zac Posen.  It retails for $350 but I was able to rent it for $50.

Image Courtesy of 3runninginheels.blogspot.com

Image Courtesy of 3runninginheels.blogspot.com

I got a little daring with this rental, as well.  I am a size 6.  The only dress sizes in that range were 4 and 8.  Now, I would have been more than happy to eat my fill in junk food for a few weeks, and put on a couple pounds for the sake of a well-fit size 8. There were reviews, however that said that the cup size on the dress ran a little large.  And excuse the brashness but it doesn’t matter how much I eat, my girls will stay around the same size until I either A. die or B. Do something surgical about it.  Now time for me to do either.  So I went for the size 4.  I ate healthy, worked out, and kept on getting asked by my mom “Has the dress come yet?”  That’s the other thing about RTR…you can buy extra days for the dress rental, but it won’t arrive until the day before the event you need it for.  I am okay with this, I really am.  But it’s sometimes hard to explain that a rental is not a purchase and I am paying for the time that the dress is out of their hands.

Rent the Runway’s website is very easy to use.  Once you have created an account to access the website, you can search for dresses and accessories in different price ranges, by the dates that you need them, by the color and size, as well as the event types.  It’s phenomenal!  They even have a section for brides to be.  What they really need to do is add some wedding dresses on the site.  That would be amazing!

Back to the story, I was biting my fingernails all day on Friday; even though I had been stopping by my house between appointments, there was no dress yet.  I was thrilled that once I came home for the evening, the lovely RTR box was sitting on my doorstep.  It was literally like Christmas!  I opened the box to find the dress in a custom garment bag, along with the necklace I also rented for the occasion.  020113194825

The dress was pressed to perfection and I had to try it on, just to make sure that it actually fit after 2 long weeks of dieting and exercise.  I squealed like a school girl when I found it fit like a glove!

020113194702

I’m sexy and I know it!  lol.  Pardon the robe in the background.  Big points for quick delivery from RTR.  But the true test was not over yet.  I still had to wear it to the actual event.  It should be said that i picked out a few other dresses, but it was up to Tim to pick the final dress since he was going to have to be seen with me in public.  The rest of the dresses are here on my Pinterest board.  It is tighter and shorter than what I would usually wear, so this was a TOTAL break of character.

After getting my hair and make up complete for the night (by the way, I will be posting a Jennifer Lawrence from the SAG Awards tutorial later this week), I slipped on the dress WITHOUT Spanx, by the way.  I would recommend something like the Nu Bra for this dress, though, because a strapless will still give you seams and a line of fabric in the low back of the dress.  The fabric is velvety and has a little bit of stretch to it, so it is very great several body types.  I would not recommend this dress if you have a little bit of a belly, because even with my little pooch, I was getting a some tummy anxiety.  If you have the pooch and you have the chest to back it up, go a dress size up. Just sayin’.  But I stepped out of my room and Tim was impressed.  Evidently this girl scrubs up real nice.

550185_945393232676_387029489_n

Daddy, Mommy, Me (in the RenttheRunway.com Dress and Necklace), and Tim. We looked hawt Saturday night.

Ta-da!  The finished product.  The dress was a wild success.  I received many compliments and felt like a movie star.  And Tim gives the look two-thumbs up.  Yay for boyfriend approved.  Best part?  I don’t have to steam anything and I didn’t have to pay $600 for this look.  With the coupon, this look cost me a grand total of $45.96!  Yeah, baby, how about them apples?  Tomorrow morning, I will take the pre-stamped return bag to the post office and pop it in the mail.  Rent the Runway thinks of everything, takes out the guess work as well as the leg work when finding the perfect ensemble to wear for a formal event.  I highly recommend them, and I really hope I get an invite soon to another swanky affair so I can do this all over again.

Want to see what all the fuss is about?  Visit Rent the Runway’s website!

How do you handle finding the perfect outfit for a special occasion?  What do you do to save money when it comes to clothes shopping?  Did you have a positive experience with Rent the Runway, as well?  Comment below and I will be sure to comment back.

Disclaimer: This review is not sponsored by or endorsed by Rent the Runway. The thoughts expressed in this post are solely my own and I am not being compensated in any way for this review.

3 thoughts on “Product Review: Rent the Runway

  1. This was awesome to hear about your RTR experience. I received a coupon with one of my monthly Birchboxs but I had never heard about RTR before. I’m definitely interested after hearing how well your experience went.

    P.S. You look great in that dress! 🙂

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

