Office Space: Part 1

Today is going to be a crazy day guys, so I am just going to let you first know that I am again working on home projects.  I went through a lethargic period where I really didn’t want to do much of anything around my house, especially clean it.  Yesterday, however, I was particularly motivated to clean out the closet in the guest room.  Since I became a realtor in January, I have been floating  from my desk which is now my assistant’s desk to the an unused office space that is currently up for grabs.  Since there is nothing set in stone as to where I will be when it comes to the Lancaster office, I am really in need of a “permanent home” for my documents, or at least a nice place to set down my laptop where my cat can’t jump on top of it and start nuzzling me.

I really searched high and low for a place in my house that I could set up shop.  Honestly, there is not much space in my house to create a wall for an office.  I got creative for the first time in a while and decided that my unused guest bedroom closet was really the only spot I could make this work.  Also, the sliding doors will be perfect for hiding the work mess away whenever guests come over.

office and yhl 001

The mess was ridiculous.  The box you see in the closet is actually what was leftover from the mass exodus of childhood furniture in the master bedroom.  Pictures, books, CDs, and cards from the past filled that box.  It took some major muscle to drag that thing out of the depths of the cave. I had been dreading cleaning out that box for the past few months, but once I got down to it, it only took me about 20 minutes. The conforter set has been taken to Goodwill along with a few other knicknacks.  My sewing machine is now in the master bedroom closet with the rest of my crafting doo-dads. Knicknacks and doodads…sounds like a fun song to hum.  And silly me forgot to take an after shot of the trasformation.  What is up with me lately, geez?  I will take a picture tonight, but the MAIN thing is now I have a space for a desk as well as a shelf for pictures and folders.  I am thrilled.

This project is going to be an ever-eveolving one for the next few weeks to months, depending on a few factors, mainly where and when I will get my permanent office in Lancaster.  I am hoping to work a few days a week from home to cut down on the amount of gas I use, however, Lancaster will indeed be my home office.  I am attempting to maximize the storage space in this small area, and hopefully if I have a large enough space in Lancaster, I won’t have to worry about keeping an extra file cabinet at home.  I have found a few great Pinsperation shots to help me along with the project.

a00466c62d08d291dfdd103c56fec73a

Image Courtesy of apartmenttherapy.com

Goal #1: Maximizing wall space.  The closet is teeny-tiny at maybe about 5 feet wide and 2.5 feet deep.  A good bit of the desk space will be utilized for heavy office supplies like my computer and scanner/printer.  I love the idea of setting up a shelf as well as the little hanging pods to store pens and scissors.  The wall-paper is also a nice touch.  Yeah, don’t think I am going this without breaking out the paint.

Image Courtesy of SmallSpaceStyle.blogspot.com

Image Courtesy of SmallSpaceStyle.blogspot.com

Goal #2: Add light and personality.  Just because it’s meant for work doesn’t mean it can’t be pretty and bright.  I will be spending a lot of my time in this area, so I really want something I will look forward to using each day.  I also am getting some ideas from the vertical storage.

597dd417874b6861bc4e2f3bd19f9895

Image Courtesy of GraveandIvy.wordpress.com

Goal #3: Stay organized.  The main reason why I am stressing so much right now is that I am up in the air as far as the office debacle goes, and I have no idea where anything is.  I am really excited to have a space for everything, epecially my notepads, appointment calendar, and folders.

That’s all I have for today.  I can’t wait to share my mini visit with Sherri and John Petersik from Young House Love as well as what I found at IKEA for my home office.

Have an unused space in your home that you don’t feel is living up to its full potential? Do you have a home office and want to share some great tips?  Comment below and I will be sure to comment back.

3 thoughts on “Office Space: Part 1

  1. Pingback: Office Space: Part 2 | Living Young & Wild & Free

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

