Office Space: Part 2

Ah, the joys of working from home!  Not that I am there right now, but I hope to be quite a bit more now that I officially have my office complete.  With gas prices skyrocketing, I really wanted to invest in a space that was solely my own and that I could set up shop half the week.

Here is the the closet before.  And that’s really all it is: a closet.  I wasn’t doing much as far as storage goes; I was actually just shoving stuff away until I was ready to deal with it.

DSCN1009

However, I pulled everything out of the closet, skeletons and all, dusted them off and I was granted a new space that could be optimized for work!

DSCN1027

First off, the biggest aspect of getting to work on a home project is the music you listen to while tackling the unknown.  For this project, my playlist was The Who’s Quadrophenia. Tim gave me the entire concert, so I had that playing on my Apple TV while I painted.  Because I didn’t want to separate myself from the rocking out, I was forced to stay there the entire time.  And, I must say, I only spent the entire concert working on the space plus 30 minutes.  So, really this project took me 2 hours from start to finish.  Not bad!

Step One: I taped off the closet with blue tape since there is no real line of separation from the closet to the guest room wall.  You really need to be careful with this or else the paint you picked for the closet will peek out from behind the doors.  Once you’ve taped off the closet space, close the doors just to make sure the tape cannot be seen.

DSCN1029

Step Two:  Using a brush, cut into the corners as well as hard-to-reach areas.  Try not to create hard lines with the brush, so that when you roll, there is a smooth finish.

DSCN1030

Step Three: Let the rolling begin!  The paint that I used was the same paint I colored my kitchen with, so it was free!  Can’t beat that price.

Step Four:  Wait for the paint to dry.  Have a glass of tea. Or build an IKEA desk, which is what I did.  🙂

DSCN1033

Put it all together and you have an office area that is absolutely brilliant and still boasts quite a bit of storage! This entire closet to office makeover cost me:

  • Knubbig Table Lamp IKEA: $14.99
  • Bygel Rail IKEA: $2.99
  • Bygel Container X2 IKEA: $1.99
  • Flower IKEA: $1.49
  • Somrig Vase IKEA: $.99
  • Laiva Desk: $17.99
  • Chair: Hand Me Down
  • Paint: Leftover from Kitchen Reno FREE
  • Expedit Series Shelf IKEA: $39.99 (Bought 2 years ago, repurposed)

TOTAL: $80.43

DSCN1034

I am a sucker for pretty things, especially flowers.  I bought myself a permanent flower to brighten up my little office space and it goes great with the bronze butterflies that I actually got from my grandmother years and years ago.  They have been packed away so long, it was great to have them “flying” around again.

DSCN1035

The organizer (which I bought from Thirty-One) is just moved from the kitchen.  It was awkward in the corner next to my wine and coffee station.  Now it has purpose in my office.  The yellow rose is actually from my Papa’s funeral.  It’s morbid, I know, but I love having something pretty to remember him by  The card with the cat in the sweater was given to me by my cousin Parker for my birthday this year.  It makes me laugh every time I see it.  Even now, I am stifling giggles.  I don’t care who you are, cats in sweaters are funny!

DSCN1036

Eventually the Expedit will have my files lying on top.  Right now, I have my awesome glowy ball of light fixture.  Because I was so limited on desk space, I decided to hang my pens and scissors in cups on a rail.  This was inspired by my Pinterest challenge.

DSCN1037

Right now, the shelf above is literally being held down by only a few photos.  I am going to get up there eventually and hammer it in to the closet so it doesn’t shift and end up breaking something.  But this shelf is where my photos and hopefully sells and listings folders will stay.

DSCN1038

The coolest feature about the closet office is that, when I am done or have company over, it can be hidden away by simply pushing in my chair and sliding the door shut.  Talk about maximizing a small space.

Just a quick recap, because seeing Before and Afters please me to pieces:

DSCN1009

BEFORE: A CLUTTERED, UNDER-UTILIZED SPACE

DSCN1039

AFTER: UBER-EFFICIENT, MEGA-AWESOME HOME OFFICE!

Tim says I work too much because I spent my entire weekend working on home projects and showing houses, so tonight we are going to have a self-imposed relaxation night.  No plans, just vegging.  What did you do over the weekend?

4 thoughts on “Office Space: Part 2

  1. I love this! It looks so modern and fun! I actually did something similar to an unused closet in my apartment and have been loving it so far! And the best part is that when it gets messy you can just close the doors, right? 🙂 Thanks so much for posting this – very fun to read.

  2. I had a nice closet office in our last home -loved it! In this one, I have a computer hutch in the front room 🙂 Love the 31 Organizer – that piece has always been one of my faves but the fabric choices never went with my decor. Trying to figure out how to make my own…

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

