Don’t Make Me Go Back Out There!

Image Courtesy of liketotally80s.com

Image Courtesy of liketotally80s.com

There’s something magical about finding “the one.”  I am not talking fireworks or butterflies, either.  I am talking about the true comfort you come to know with the perfect person and the utter fear of having to be single once again.  I used to call this the “smug couple” effect when I was single. The “smug couple” effect works like this:  You’re one of the few single people left after people begin to pair off, get engaged and married.  They then ask why in the world you haven’t found someone yet and reminisce on their own single days.  All their stories differ but there is one thing they all have in common: they have no desire to get back out there again.  I am talking about the truly happy couples, not the Hall Pass or Old School couples where the husband or wife is chomping at the bit just to get out of the house.  When I was single, I would roll my eyes and laugh at them.  Man, I am never going to get tired of being single.  I may just stay single forever. I am a free bird, you can’t tie me down to the system!  Well, I am about to eat my words.  Now that I am on the other side of the “smug couple” effect, I am noticing some things about myself:

  1. I don’t want to date anymore.  The thought of it just bothers me.  There are enough crazies out there and I found one that is just crazy enough to keep me entertained.  My guy and girlfriends regale me with their conquests, with the bad blind dates, the seemingly sweet guys who turned into jerks a few dates in…and I believe that my face takes on something that can only be compared to Edvard Munch’s The Scream. Sure, it’s exciting and new and fun but…
  2. I am tired.  That is a pathetic statement coming from a 25 year old who pretty much worshiped Carrie Bradshaw the first 4 years of her adult life but it’s true.  I am a workaholic.  By the end of the week, all I really want to do is cuddle up with a good movie and sleep.
  3. I don’t believe that I will ever be as close to anyone as I am with Tim.  It’s amazing!  There are no egg shells to step on, we are able to talk, able to argue, able to really communicate.  And it took literally no time at all to get to that level of understanding and true friendship with him.  With my other relationships it would take a year or two, if at all.
  4. I find a new reason to fall in love everyday.  I don’t know what it is but I am able to look at this wicked awesome guy and fall in love with him a little more.  I don’t mean to be sappy but it’s true.  Forget the idea of going out and finding that “epic romance” that Nicolas Sparks keeps pushing on the masses, in the words of Phil Dunfy, the great romantic from Modern Family:
    Image Courtesy of myteespot.com

    Image Courtesy of myteespot.com

    I believe that it is safe to say that I am officially, completely and utterly taken.  I don’t need a ring to signify that nor do I need marriage vows.  Would be one heck of a party, though.  Eh, I think we will stick to the Three Year Rule on this one.  Yeah, Tim and I have a three year rule.  No wedding bells until 2015.  So people who have been asking if I am engaged yet.  No, guys.  Come on!  I am enjoying the committed dating thing where we aren’t even living together, yet.  These are the days we’ll look back on and miss.  I am going to savor them.  On that note, it’s Walking Dead day.  I have a couple episodes to catch up on.

But first, enjoy this marvelous clip of the eminent sequel to When Harry Met Sally.  Priceless!

When-Harry-Met-Sharon-Staring-Billy-Crystal-and-Helen-Mirren

WHEN HARRY MET SHARON

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

