A Casual List of Home Improvements…Where Was I Now?

I realized that I have been doing quite a bit around the condo but I really haven’t done much of anything to the condo.  Or have I?  Let’s find out, shall we?  The last time I made my list of home improvements was last April!  Wow, time flies.  Considering it is almost March now, I may have gotten a lot of things finished on my list.  I am going to leave notes in some spots because people do change their minds decide to tweak things along the way.

Oh, and I am going to throw in the budget that I will use to work on each room.  This is going to be fun.

THE LIST

Living Room (40% Complete)

Budget Left: $300

  • Paint the living room a different, more neutral color. (About that…I actually really love this blue room.  Especially now that I have tied it in to my whole, dorky Tardis bit over the door, I think I might keep this much longer than I intended to)
  • Create more light with new fan and light fixtures…
  • Get a new couch, new coffee table, and a lovely side table that is NOT made out of books… This was completed in August with the addition of Couchy to the family.  I also brought back my old coffee table and got a “side table” out of the dumpster and brought it upstairs. So, here’s what needs to happen now.
  • Paint and create shelving in side table for maximum storage…091012212212
  • A small chair for extra seating for company…
  • Paint the trim in the living room…yes, Mom, I am getting it done! :)
  • Paint the bar in the living room… The project was actually easy and fun, and it is definitely more cohesive now with the rest of the room!090312000054
  • Wallpaper the glass behind the bar for a more updated look…
  • Clear out under the bar and the shelves…we have too many wine glasses…
  • Built-in bookcases and media center in living room… This project was actually moved to the guest room!  I decided to keep the living/dining area solely for entertaining guests.  entertainmentcenter 011
  • Touch up the blue spots of paint on the ceiling…
  • De-rust the sliding glass door out to the balcony…
  • Create a little mail box for inside the house….

Bathroom (20% Complete)

Budget Left: $1500ryanpics 150

  • Two sinks instead of the one along with new cabinets in the bathroom.
  • Linen shelves in the bathroom.
  • Repaint walls and door in bathroom…
  • Patch up hole left by toilet paper roll…
  • Shower door removed in all its scuzziness.
  • New shower curtain up so I can actually take bubble baths. Ahhhh…After 

    After
  • Make the tub look more finished…
  • New vinyl floors…
  • Put up his/her mirrors…

Kitchen (0% Complete)

Budget Left: $1200homeupdate 089

  • New kitchen counter tops…
  • Sand and repaint the cabinets in the kitchen
  • Hardware on the cabinets to modernize and unify the room…
  • In place of the kitchen island and pot rack which is pushed against the wall, a pantry will be put in to maximize storage space… (I actually going to keep the pot rack, I have a fondness for it).  The kitchen island will eventually be sold on Craigslist.
  • New sink in the kitchen and more than likely a fancy faucet…
  • Extend the counterspace out, create a wine nook and have a space that we can store our recycling and trash discreetly…
  • Create a lazy susan under the corner counter, which I have dubbed the black hole, mainly because stuff goes in there and we never see it again!
  • Hem the curtains in the kitchen so they don’t look like haunted house decorations…
  • Paint the refrigerator with black chalkboard paint…

Hallway (0% Complete)

Budget: $150

  • Repair sqeauky dryer by means of replacing belt and drum pads…
  • New light in the hallway…
  • Clean out and organize hall closet…
  • Paint hall closet…

Flooring (0% Complete)

The burber carpet is starting to come up, my friends.  It ain’t pretty.  I am debating on when I will do the project and whether or not I will actually hire a contractor for the job.  I would love to get it done right the first time.  I could also save a lot of money if I do the work myself.  I am attending a lot of Women Build meetings and clinics.  Hopefully I will have some skills squared away by the end of the summer!

Budget Left: $1850

  • New laminate hardwood floors throughout the house…

Dining Room (50% Complete)

Budget Left: $200

  • Create an actual dining area in the living room…
  • Create a dining hutch to store dishes…DSCN1066
  • Add wainscot and chair rail on the walls…
  • Add new cushions or create cushion covers that fit the chairs…

Balcony (50% Complete)

Budget Left: $50

  • Screen in the balcony.
  • Create a little nook for Mads on the balcony… (that’s never going to happen.  I found out that left unattended, she claws the mess out of the screen)
  • Sell grill and buy a mini fire pit for chilly nights…

Master Bedroom (80% Complete)homeupdate 098

Budget Left: $100

  • Wardrobes in the master bedroom to replace the knockoff bedside tables that are actually falling apart! ( I will not be adding wardrobes, but I will be tweaking it so I get new bedside tables with plenty of storage)
  • Update the master closet with fresh paint and mood board for clothes shopping inspiration…
  • Paint some gorgeous designs and add mirrors above the side table lamps…
  • Create a reading space for me in the bedroom…
  • Get rid of all my “baby furniture” and purchase more modern, sleek, sexy, and adult bedroom furniture. 

Guest Room (35% Complete)DSCN1038

Budget Left:  $200

  • Bedding
  • Painting the doors
  • Maximizing storage…
  • Add seating for guests who are just hanging out and watching TV.
  • New fan
  • Side table for setting drinks down
  • Add artwork around the entertainment center…
  • Add artwork to the wall behind the bed…
  • Curtains!

Office Space (80% Complete)DSCN1039

Budget Left: $25

  • Set up office nook in the kitchen… (I set up the office nook in the guest room)  Pretty sweet!
  • On top of that paint chair!
  • And furthermore reupholster chair…

So, kids, this is currently where I am in my whole project…overall average of 39% of my house is complete.  I have a long way to go there.  For the amount of time I have been living here, I should at least be up to 60% at least by now.  I have some major catching up to do.  And with a budget of $5600, I could be at it for a while.  Mainly because I have to save up that great wad of dough.

So the big question now is…what should I start thinking about tackling next?  Spring is coming up and with that I will have a humongous drive.  Right now I am just in the planning stages.

One thought on “A Casual List of Home Improvements…Where Was I Now?

  1. Pingback: A Casual List of Home Improvements Fall Update | Living Young & Wild & Free

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

