Wedding Wednesday: The Beginning

Happy Wedding Wednesday everyone.  Here I come at you with yet another awesome thing pertaining to weddings.  Why?  Because I am obsessed.  No really, I am obsessed to the point where I ask myself why am I not a wedding planner?  I mean, seriously?  No ring on my finger and I pin wedding dresses, tablescapes, and come up with glamorous wedding boards like it’s my job.  But what will happen on the day when a ring will be put on my finger?  I used to think I was the girl who just wanted the simple “Hey, will you marry me?”  And I was sold on the idea until I was proposed to on New Year’s Eve just before I turned 21.  First thing, I believe I was entirely too young to be getting married now that I look back at it.  Many people would say that I am still too young to be getting married.  The jury is out on that one.  But back to the story, it was just him and I, sitting on the couch watching the ball drop on TV.  We had had a great dinner beforehand and it felt nice just the two of us.  He asked me what my New Year’s resolution was.  And I gave him the basic hooplah: lose weight, stop biting my nails, keep being awesome, etc.  And he said “Well, mine is to marry you.”  And there was the ring and there it all was.  The simple proposal I had thought would set off a chain reaction of butterflies and fireworks.  I think it was because I was too young to appreciate it or maybe he wasn’t the one.  But one thing I did miss about it was my family and friends were miles away and couldn’t be part of the happiness.  I don’t consider myself a loner and I just get the warm and fuzzies when I think of everyone I love being a part of the big moments in my life.

1815-regency-proposal-woodcut

I have been doing some pondering on this for a while because one day in the distant future, this will pertain to me…okay, if I am lucky.  I have  a great boyfriend. The not perfect but, man, he’s so freaking awesome I would totally grow old with him.  Latest example?  Yesterday I came home from a nuts day at the office, not in the best of moods.  I had a case of the Mondays, if you will.  I get a call from him while I am outside having my one-a-day-cigarette (I really am trying to quit) and he asks me over to his house for dinner, just out of the blue.  I told him “no can do.”  I already have a turkey burger in the microwave and I have work to catch up on. Besides I honestly thought he’d want a night to himself.  He tells me that I am leaving something out of my nightly plans.  I ask him “what?”  And he says “You and me having a cigarette together.”  It’s romantic in an addicted-to-killing-ourselves-slowly kind of way.  But sure enough, he is up the stairs and I am giving him the biggest hug because I really needed a visit from him.  And then he tells me that I should ditch the turkey burger and come over to his house for tacos instead.  When this doesn’t work (trying to watch my figure), he mentions zombies.  The man knows the way to this girl’s heart.  So he kidnapped me for the night, got me set up in his room to work on my stuff while he made dinner.  And we watched Walking Dead and Friends and all was right with the world.  I looked over at him so many times and thought, yep, I could do this forever.

And it’s not like we haven’t discussed it.  He has a tendency of telling me everyday that he is going to marry me.  And it makes me very happy.  But enough about that.  Today I am supposed to fueling you with dreams of your own big day.  The day before the big day, if I may.  The day that you get asked the big question.

Proposals are a delicate thing.  There are many different kinds out and about and many of them seem to one-up each other, especially the viral ones.

These are just a few of my favorite (but please do not attempt if you are the faint of heart) wedding proposals.  And, as I have always said about proposals: guys, if you go to THAT much trouble to get her to marry you, you will be paying up until the day you die trying to keep her married to you.  Be prepared.

Movie Trailer Proposal

Matt and Ginny must go to the movies quite a bit.  He set up quite a lot.  But my favorite part is when he takes his dear sweet time getting into the theatre.  Oh the suspense will have you sitting on the edge of your seat.

The Original Lip Dub Proposal

Dancing jews kick butt!

Downtown Disney Flashmob Proposal

Hope you’re not sick of Bruno Mars yet, because this is really good.  Jamin orchestrated a flash mob for his lady Val.  She thought it was pretty cool and then Jamin jumped in.

The Robin

HIMYM fans will get it and you know you totally cried.

I Wanna Grow Old with You

This is actually my dream proposal.  Maybe not exactly this song and maybe not on a plane to Las Vegas with my crappy current fiance but you get the picture. I have always thought writing a love song for someone was really romantic and sweet.  Presenting it in front of family and friends would be awesome, you know, just so we won’t have to call everyone after. Headache…

What are your thoughts on proposals? Do you think the bigger the better?  Or is simple and sweet more your speed?  I also want to hear proposal stories.  Bring ’em on!

2 thoughts on “Wedding Wednesday: The Beginning

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

