The Next Home

Tim and I hit the 9 month marker Tuesday (hold your applause), and now that our relationship is fully gestated (that’s sexy sounding, isn’t it?) we have hit that phase in our relationship where we are talking living together and we are even daydreaming about what our house would be like.  Right now, he is living in a sweet 3 bedroom/2 bath home not far from mine.  By the way, look out for a few “field trip” home updates at his place.  Since he has started helping me out at The Treehouse, I have offered my sweat equity over at his casa, as well. We spent all of Monday cleaning up his bedroom and bathroom as well as the back porch. He loves to take advantage of my “I have to freaking clean something now” moods.  Back to the subject, though, we are still living apart and we are quite happy that way.  But we both know there might come a day when we will have to combine houses to make things easier.  Since I am a realtor, I can’t actually post MLS listed homes onto my blog (unless they’re my listings), so I am hitting Pinterest to help me compile a Dream Home Wish Board.

Must Have: Two Car Garage or Carport

Neither Tim nor I actually have a garage or even a carport to our names.  We both leave the fates of our cars to the elements and also that means getting soaked while carrying groceries inside as I will be more than likely doing today.  Anyone else see that tropical storm coming?  It would be great to have a place to stow away our cars as well as have a little bit of tool storage.

Image Courtesy of Pinterest

Image Courtesy of Pinterest

I have always been a big fan of the carriage house style doors.  But I am also partial to this awesome pergola/carport I found at YoungHouseLove.com.  Fun fact, they are moving as well!

Image Courtesy of YoungHouseLove.com

Image Courtesy of YoungHouseLove.com

Must Have: Master Suite with Walk-In Closet

I love my “master bedroom” but it really isn’t a suite.  I have to walk out to hallway to get to the bathroom and so does Tim at his place.  We also have double closets in our bedrooms.  We could seriously use the storage space, especially in his case.  He has more clothes and shoes than I do.  It would be phenomenal to have a big suite with a walk-in closet as well as a huge bathroom to share.  What would be most ideal would be to have a home with two masters so his mom could have her space and we would have ours and nobody would have to compromise on space.

4a49413659a5c33a2b140482d55c83b4

This suite is in my wildest dreams.  I am currently working with clients who are building to have a master suite that is about the same format.  Ask me how jealous of them I am.  Ready to see the dream closet?

a38019715d6f9ce7a875fd9b732cf4ab

You know I am a stickler for organization if you only spend about 5 minutes a week reading my blog.  I would just need a big enough closet to go IKEA crazy on it.  Thank goodness there are plenty of listings out there that have walk-ins.

Must Have: Spacious Backyard with Room for a Patio(or a Patio Already Built)

My Pinterest board for The Outdoors has gotten ridiculously packed lately.  Mainly because I have all these great ideas for a back yard and I have no yard to play with these ideas.  So, I am feverishly pinning ideas daily for whenever I will have a place with a back yard.  Tim wants a barbecue area as well as a place for a hammock.  It would be really sweet to run outdoor speakers to the deck and patio as well for whenever we are grilling out, which we do pretty much every night I come over these last few weeks.

Image Courtesy of BHG.com

Image Courtesy of BHG.com

This is amazing!  I have downloaded the plans for this patio.  It has tons of seating, a built in firepit as well as a built in cooler.  All we need is the outdoor barbecue and hammock and we are set for life. Tim is partial to a hammock whereas I would love an outdoor day bed. One of my Facebook friends actually had a swinging day bed put on her porch by her husband.  She says she hardly ever goes inside now.  I don’t blame her.

Image Courtesy of PinkPeonyStyle.com

Image Courtesy of PinkPeonyStyle.com

Must Have: Three Additional Bedrooms or Two Bedrooms with a Bonus Room

When it comes to talking to buyers, the very first thing I ask is “how many bedrooms and bathrooms?”  Well, ideally we would like to have 4 BR/2.5 BA or 3 BR/2.5 BA with a bonus room.  And it would be awesome if one of the bedrooms was a guest suite or additional master suite.

Must Have: Screened Porch

Tim and I both have screened porches at our houses and we are adamant about always having a place to enjoy the outdoors without nature getting at us.  Even having the potential of adding screen over an existing porch is better than not having a porch at all.  But if there isn’t a screened porch or there isn’t a way we can add a screened porch, it’s going to be a no-go.

Image Courtesy of GeorgianaDesign.tumblr.com

Image Courtesy of GeorgianaDesign.tumblr.com

Must Have: An Established Neighborhood Where I Can Run

I am close to two parks in Rock Hill but I have to get in my car to get to the both of them.  I daydream about rolling out of bed, strapping on my tennis shoes and going for a brisk 10 mile jog around my neighborhood (in my daydreams I am able to run marathons) before heading into work.  Also, it would be nice to go for walks after dinner and just have some quiet time together.  Luckily, Tim lives in a great neighborhood where there is not a ton of auto traffic and plenty of pavement to pound.

Would Be Nice to Have: A Basement

We both agree that basements are awesome.  Of course, we both have different ideas for what we would like to use that space for.  Tim wants a movie room/game room/basic hangout area.  I want a wine cellar.  Heck, if the basement was big enough, we could have BOTH!

Image Courtesy of Westmarkrealtors.com

Image Courtesy of Westmarkrealtors.com

VS

8cb30c67786ba13f2120305445c618ef

Would Be Nice to Have: Hardwood Floors in the Main Rooms

Between Maddie and Ringo (Tim’s dog) there is going to be a ton of hair.  Neither of us are allergic but the plethora of fur is going to be hard to vacuum up on a weekly basis.  Having hardwood or even laminate hardwood floors through the living areas (I even vote for the bedrooms) would make the house a little more hypoallergenic.

Photo Courtesy of ApartmentTherapy.com

Photo Courtesy of ApartmentTherapy.com

Would Be Nice to Have: A Chef’s Kitchen with a Pantry

Thank the Lord I found a man who loves to cook.  Because I do too, I really do.  It will be awesome being able to share a kitchen that is spacious enough for both of us to cook while entertaining family.  I also have a thing for BIG pantries.  I blame it again on IKEA.  They make the big pantries in houses look so easy.  Tim and I actually visited his boss’s, house the other night and his kitchen is what I want.  There was tons of counter and cabinet space as well as stainless steel appliances, a pantry, and granite counter tops.  I about died.

Image Courtesy of Pinterest.com

Image Courtesy of Pinterest.com

Image Courtesy of Houzz.com

Image Courtesy of Houzz.com

 

Would Be Nice to Have: A Pool

Currently, the only pool we “have” is the one we have to drive to Carowinds to play in.  It would really be awesome to have a pool right in the back yard.  We have even thought that we can do an above grounder with plenty of nice landscaping.

Image Courtesy of yahoo.com

Image Courtesy of yahoo.com

Would Be Nice to Have: Built-Ins

This is not a maker or breaker, it would just be nice to have.  The reason why I bought The Treehouse was that I fell in love with the built-in bar area in the living room.  I can only imagine I would flip out completely if there were even more built-ins. I think it’s just that I have an aversion to rooms that are “just empty boxes.”  I need more character than that.

Image Courtesy of stylecarrot.com

Image Courtesy of stylecarrot.com

 

So that’s out list.  I am sure that we will add and subtract until we get to the day when we make that big step.  Do you have a “must have” and “would be nice” list for your house search?

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

