Life Is What Happens When You’re Making Other Plans

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/05/daily-prompt-dreams/

 

When I was 5 I wanted to be a singer.  I didn’t know what kind just yet but I specifically remember acting out and singing every Disney princess ballad that there was.  One of my mom’s fondest memories is when I snuck out of my Aunt Betty and Uncle Nelson’s house and set myself in this humongous willow tree and just sang to myself. My favorite Disney princess at the time (and still is) Belle, but Ariel had the great songs.  I was just sitting there singing for myself.  I like to think that I was singing “Part of Your World” when the grown-ups found me.  They thought it was the cutest thing, told me I had a voice like an angel, and I made up my mind then and there that I, Morgan Overcash, was going to be a great singer one day.

Me as Wendla with Tyler Waddell as Melchior in Spring Awakening

Me as Wendla with Tyler Waddell as Melchior in Spring Awakening

I went to college for opera performance, and for four years I worked so hard at improving myself, my voice.  I even won a singing competition in my home town.  Not a huge feat but I felt like maybe I could still follow my dreams of being a great opera star. I even got to play Wendla in Spring Awakening, one of my dream roles. By the time I had graduated, though, I had a mortgage and dreams to just make money doing something I loved.  At that time I was working with my mom as her office assistant.  This wasn’t my favorite job in the world, so I decided to branch beyond sitting in front of a computer and really in my mom’s shadow.  I became a direct sales consultant with a romance company for 2 years.  The job showed me that I had the guts to go after clients, to create a brand, and actually gain confidence in myself as a sales person.  Around the end of the 2 years, I began entertaining the impossible idea of becoming a realtor, just like my mom.  I was still performing in shows, still singing, but mainly it was for myself.  I had come to realize that I did not want to be paid for the thing that I truly loved, because performing had become my creative outlet.  It was my way of blowing off steam at the end of the day.

Me singing with my friend Carrie in "Take Me or Leave Me" from Rent

Me singing with my friend Carrie in “Take Me or Leave Me” from Rent

So I became a realtor.  It is truly the best job I could ever ask for.  No two days are the same.  I get to meet new people everyday.  I get to pursue my passions outside of the office, and because I don’t have set hours, I can actually make the time and not be exhausted.  No, it’s not Broadway or Carnegie Hall but my audience each Wednesday and Saturday night are my best friends and the love of my life at Lucky Lou’s.  I love singing karaoke and listening to other people contribute.  It’s like we are telling are own stories in this little bar, unloading and baring our souls to each other through song.

My sister and I singing at karaoke

My sister and I singing at karaoke

Sometimes I have people ask me if I am still doing anything to pursue the opera career and I just have to shrug and smile.  That life just wasn’t for me; the life that I dreamed about when I was little.  It doesn’t really negate my current existence, though.  I feel more fulfilled, happier, and more me in this life I have “fallen” in to.  My 5 year old self would really not recognize me.  She would probably ask me the infantile series of “why, why, why” with every answer I gave her.  But, in the end, I would just have to reply “Because, we are truly happy.”

8 thoughts on “Life Is What Happens When You’re Making Other Plans

  1. Pingback: Daily Promt: When I Grow Up! | The Story of a Guy

  2. Pingback: My top five things I want to be when I grow up… | My Top Fives...

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

