Wedding Wednesday: Love Is Beachy Keen!

Welcome back to Wedding Wednesday!  Did you miss it?  I sure did.  This wedding I am absolutely stoked about because I met this couple a few months before their wedding when I was showing them around town and helping them buy a home.  They were just the funniest couple I have ever met and the love they have for each other (despite the occasional eye rolling) is so very apparent.  I am also excited because there’s not much I love more than a good beach wedding.  And they really did it up right and all around $5,000!

PB6

SHELLY + SCOTT

JULY 19, 2013

SandS

Wedding Date: Friday July 19, 2013

 

Bride and Occupation: Shelly. I do accounting – and am looking for a local position in Rock Hill/Fort Mill/South Charlotte area… Anyone want to hire me? =)

Groom and Occupation: Scott, a technician at Proctor & Gamble

DSC_3154

Wedding Location:  Breakers Resort, Myrtle Beach, SC

Favors2

 

What was your budget?  $5000, although we may have gone over that…

– Seaside Lawn/Farlow Banquet Hall rentals – $1000

– Reception food/host bar for soft drinks – $2500

– Photographer – Family & friends pricing

– DJ – Family & friends pricing

– Photobooth – $400 for 2 hours

– Cake – $145.00

– Flowers – didn’t do real flowers… seashell bouquets & mothers corsages – $200

– Stationary – $200

– Favors/Parents & Attendants gifts – $350

– Officiant – $325 (because deposit to first/now MIA is lost…)

 

…am I forgetting anything? =)

PB2

 

How many guests did you have?  70 RSVP’d (including Scott & I and our bridal party)

IMG_0226

 

Talk About the Ceremony: The day was perfect – a word I don’t use very often! We’d had a lot of rain leading up to our wedding date, but the day was sun ny & not too hot – low to mid 80’s. Our ceremony was outside on the Seaside Lawn of Breakers Resort. We had 2 Matrons of Honor as I have 2 of the best friends a girl could ask for! Jessica & Trish. They wore Cornflower Blue dresses. My niece Noelle was our Flower Girl. Scott’s dad Chuck served as his Best Man and a long-time friend and co-worker Kevin was our groomsman. My nephew Colin was our Ring Bearer. My oldest brother Rick (& my Dad’s namesake) walked me down the aisle as Canon in D was playing on steel drums. Our recessional song was “On Top of the World” by Imagine Dragons.

DSC_3210fb

 

What Was Your Biggest Challenge?  Knowing if/what I was forgetting… I basically planned the entire wedding by myself as my Mom & friends live in Ohio/Canada while I was then living in Georgia.

DSC_3286

 

What creative or personal aspects did you include in your wedding? 

Our favors were glass bulb ornaments with sand & seashells in them… I collect Christmas ornaments from every where I travel, so ornaments for our favors was a Great personal touch!  

We also had some pink flamingos on the cake table – going back to the very first time Scott was at my house (before we were even dating!). Scott had left 2 pink flamingos in my yard for us to find when we returned home after a day at Cedar Point Amusement Park. Anyways… We had to include this in some as part of our wedding! 😉

Another few personal items were… for our sand ceremony, we used cornflower blue sand but also for the 2nd color we had collected sand from each of our port stops on the February cruise we had taken… having met on a cruise =) We also added smaller seashells to all guest tables and a couple larger seashells to our head table.

 

DSC_3283

What was the biggest thing you did to save money? We did not use real flowers, instead we used seashells & starfish for our bouquets. Love Etsy!Also, instead of getting a traditional 3+ layer cake… we got a simple round 12″ cake to serve 66.

Another money saver was to shop for seashells & other extra table decor in January – when everything was on sale at the beach =)

 

And then there was the cash bar for alcohol, but we had a host bar for soft drinks.

DSC_3375

 

Was there anything you were sure was going to be a total disaster that unexpectedly turned out great?  Everything 😉 Especially the weather, as our ceremony was outdoors, but we had a BEAUTIFUL sunny day and the temperature was just right! Also, I had a few special people help me out the day of ceremony. I told them my vision & they made it happen while I was at the salon getting my hair did 😉

DSC_3378fb

 

What’s the best advice you have for planning your wedding now that you’re on the other side? Remember while planning: you can lead people to water, but you cannot make them drink it!

 

What was your biggest splurge?  The photo booth – which I had wanted since I had attended another friends’ wedding in 2010. We were already at our budget, but I made it happen by only having this for the 2 hours after dinner (oh, & allowing myself to go over our budget some… 😉 )

DSC_3234

 

What was your favorite detail? I loved everything – everything was perfect (there’s that rarely used “P” word again!). Honestly – our wedding day was far better than I ever imagined!!!

 

What is the most memorable moment of your day? Honestly? Everything! We had friends & family in from Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Minnesota, New York, New Jersey, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Virginia, Wisconsin, and even Canada, eh! I will never forget our friends & family being there for us, helping with anything and everything – asked or not.

And… almost everything turned out exactly as I had envisioned it!

DSC_3180fb

What was the funniest moment of the day? Cake cutting… Neither of us wanted cake/frosting smasher in their face, but both of us anticipated the other would do this. As I cut the cake, I made sure to give Scott a small slice – without any frosting! He proceeds to pick up a larger slice with a LOT of frosting! We ended holding one each others arms trying to block the other from stuffing cake in their face. 😉

 

Vendors:

VENUE: Breakers Resort – Miranda Cotten is GREAT!

CAKE: Cakes by the Sea (http://www.cakesbythesea.com/). Kris Veigel was great – and we had a LOT of compliments on how great the cake tasted!

PHOTOGRAPHY: B. Cohn Imaging & Design (http://www.bcohnimaging.com/) – Brad is a friend from Ohio & did a Great job! I have not yet seen the finished products, but the few unedited pics I have seen are FABulous!

We also had another friend, Jody Robinson, assist us with some photos as guests entered the Pre-reception. He is just recently starting up his own side business – LaCloche Photo (http://www.laclochephoto.com/). He has some awesome scenery shots – his website is currently still under construction

MUSIC: DJ – Kevin Klusman. Kevin is one of our cruise friends from Wisconsin

PHOTOBOOTH: Charleston Photo Booths

OFFICIANT: Paul Matthews as our Officiant (http://www.myrtlebeachdjonline.com/).

zazzle.com for our invitations

Dresses from David’s Bridal 

Shutterfly for our Guestbook

Etsy.com

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

