Master Bedroom Mood Board

dscn1232

A few weeks ago, I began to get a nesting itch that progressed from the living room to the master bedroom.  I was starting to feel that my room was a little dated and even a little bit cluttered.  The side tables I had been using since before college were beginning to get on my last nerve from all the dust they collected and the “bookshelf” whose previous life as a CD rack was beginning to show had to go.  Even the bedding needed some adjustment.  Who wants a dry clean only duvet set?  Some people do, but I was sick of it.

100313090747

I am an avid collector of Better Homes and Gardens magazine and I have been tagging and tearing out pages over the past year or so for inspiration.  This design came together really easy for me.  Neutral but textured and slightly on the more feminine side.

100313090753

I have done a furniture move since last weekend that I will share with you all but I have found the biggest issue in my house is the lack of personalized art in my house.  I love this sweet cartoon drawing of this family.

100313090758

And there’s my foot.  I have retained my dresser and it is a great piece, however, it doesn’t really have any personality.  When I saw this dresser, I knew I could update mine and make it look totally different for under $5.100313090804

After struggling with the futon for about a year, I moved it to a new spot in my room where it actually gets used everyday: at the foot of my bed. Dolling it up with a few pillows and even a storage basket will invite me to sit down and actually enjoy it for once.

100313090811

I love the bedside shelf for extra storage instead of going with finding two more clunky bedside tables.  I think I might actually be able to build one for next to nothing.  This “shelf” is actually a ladder.  Very clever.100313090816

More personalized art!  Love it.  And my curtains in the bedroom are going to get beefed up a little bit as well.  The chevron print is absolutely perfect for the design concept I am going with.100313090822Since the furniture move, I actually have a long wall with nothing on it, and I am currently debating on whether or not to put any more furniture there.  Instead, I thinking I might opt for a stenciled design that will make the room look larger and draw the eye further into the room instead.  I have been on Pinterest and have found a DIY stencil that matches the one I found in my magazine.

Tim is also begging me to get another television so we can watch our shows on a larger bed or he can at least stretch out on the futon while I hang out on the bed.  With Black Friday just around the corner, I really don’t think it’s that much of a request.  And I must admit I am getting tired of moving my computer from one room to the next to watch some television at the end of the day.

Image Courtesy of everobinson.net

Image Courtesy of everobinson.net

Lastly, I want to get a natural fiber area rug to pull the room together.

Image Courtesy of CarlyRobinson.typepad.com

Image Courtesy of CarlyRobinson.typepad.com

This is the concept.  I am going to try to keep it under $300 and that includes the television.  Challenge accepted.  Have a great weekend, everyone.  I will see you all on Monday with the updates.

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

