Motivational Monday: I Can’t Complain

Hello and happy Monday, my readers.  I am coming off one fun weekend.  It was the first full weekend I have had in a very long time.  I went to a lovely card party for my friend Justine and then indulged in my first manicure in about two years with my other girl friend Sarah.  I even got to double date it with my parents and Tim at the Renaissance Festival where we got matching puzzle rings.  Tim figured his out in about 5 minutes.  I am still trying to wrap my thick skull around how to work these stupid things.  Ah well.  But as I was working with fitting the metal pieces together, it got me to thinking about how my attitude working with the ring affected my outcome. After a few tries, I had already told myself the puzzle ring is too hard for me to solve.  I got frustrated, snippy, refused help, and then ultimately gave up before shoving the thing in Tim’s hands and telling him to solve it for me.  Sure, the ring is solved for now but now I have a fear of taking it off in such a way that it will fall apart and I will have to solve it myself.  My professional life is a lot like that puzzle ring.

Puzzle-Rings-4WSL-2

When I first started my job, I had no idea what I was doing.  I learned a little bit everyday, but often I would get frustrated, throw my hands up in the air, and threaten to quit and just join the ranks of the “being told what to do” employed.  Did I really want that?  No.  But my attitude towards my job led me to begin thinking that way.  Then one day, I changed my mindset and things have chnaged in such a way, I love my job and do it well.

Things have picked up significantly around the office lately.  It’s like a second summer.  Since early October, I have spent 7 days working, probably clocking about 50+ hours a week at my job with no guarantee of getting paid for it.  It’s the nature of the real estate beast.  You work hard, you answer your phone, you drop everything to show a house, and pray that this is it.  That this one is going to pay off.  But again, there is no guarantee ever.  I have heard of some realtors that desire to be compensated for time and resources spent servicing their listings and showing buyers around to multiple houses even if a contract is never written up.  I don’t play that way.  I don’t get paid unless I close a house.  Fair and simple.

Over the past year, I have grown from going to pieces over losing a deal to feeling down for a few mere moments, shrugging it off, and telling myself “Well, it’s time for me to pick up the pieces and keep going.”  Because what will I ever accomplish from pouting about it.  Nothing.  Plus it makes me look childish and downright silly.  I try to keep my work life and my personal life separate.  I don’t bring the woes of my job out with my friends.  They are my little getaway from the office once or twice a week, and they don’t need to be burdened if I am having a bad day.  Also, because, let’s be real here, not many people want their good vibes brought down by me if I come in off the street sulking.  I used to do that, and I was told by many that I was a downer.  Sure, I have been known to cry, to scream, and be downright grumpy after a bad day on the job.  But now I tend to do it in private.  And then I go out, smile even if it’s fake and sure enough I forget about everything going on for a few hours.  Blowing off steam with my friends, thank God for them by the way, actually helps me handle my job better and adds fun to it.

I chose my path in life, and I can’t complain about it too much.  I love my job.  However, there are some rough days when I question my path.  Also, my job is a learning process and with every new challenge, it gets a little easier to navigate.  But it all depends on my attitude.  I have noticed on my days that I wake up and tell myself it’s going to be a good day, even if I have a feeling it’s not, my attitude changes from “man, today is going to suck” to “wow, I actually had a phenomenal day!”  I become impervious to the everyday downers; if a deal goes bad, I am able to take it on as a learning experience, not a failure.

When it comes to your job, mindset is key.  You can start off your day, dreading it, and sure enough your day will be awful.  Or, you can start off the day with a spring in your step (even if it’s forced) and roll with the punches, get your stuff done, and not feel too emotionally flipped to enjoy your personal life afterwards.  It’s been a struggle for me, but it does actually work!

How am I doing today?  Can’t complain.  I have a job that I truly love, despite everything.  And I am going to solve this puzzle ring, mark my words.

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

