Apartment Therapy

After living in a home for five years, you really think that itching feeling of “something isn’t right” would have stopped by now.  Yeah…you homeowners and tenants may know what I am talking about and that is a big glass of nope.  That nagging feeling of, you haven’t gotten to perfection just yet, keeps nagging me.  I mean, with the abundance of DIY and home blogs, some days I feel overwhelmed with everything I want to do to my condo: bring in new furniture, paint, build storage solutions, etc.  The nagging got so bad I joined the January Cure on ApartmentTherapy.com.  During one of the posts, it linked up to the blog creator’s book which has the same name as the blog.

011314181613

On a whim, I ordered it on Amazon just to see what it was about.  And I am now hooked.  Seriously!  This eight week program is amazing.  Within a few pages, I have learned that I am the kind of person that loves to entertain, loves to update, and loves to bring things into the home to make it better.  I also found out that I am the kind of person that puts desperately needed repairs (i.e. my broken dryer, there are bugs in the house) under making the house pretty.  And maybe the nagging feeling was the symptom of my ignoring the fact that my home should be treated like a living, breathing organism and not just a pretty doll.

So this week is the first of eight, where each week, I am charged with creating solutions for myself.  That’s the beauty of this book.  There’s no this way or that way of doing it unlike other home improvement books I have read.  This book gives me a formula that I am to follow but I get to choose how I execute it.  Pretty sweet.  And just being a few days in, pretty easy.

I have already begun sprucing up the Treehouse by the book’s specifications, and you know what?  I really haven’t spent that much and I am already feeling better.  Each week, I will take updated photos of the projects I am tasked with and let you guys follow along with me if you care to join in.  But there is more to the tasks than just doing them.  There is a mindset and a purpose to these tasks.  I highly recommend purchasing the book if you truly want to follow along with me.  It will be like a book club on speed!

So, here is the Treehouse currently (also because there is someone who is interested in purchasing my home in the future and they want a looksie).

DSC_0568 DSC_0569 DSC_0570 DSC_0571 DSC_0572 DSC_0573 DSC_0574 DSC_0575 DSC_0576 DSC_0577 DSC_0579 DSC_0580 DSC_0581 DSC_0582 DSC_0583 DSC_0584

So there is my baby five years in.  She has come a long way but I still have much to do.  But instead of adding, I am going to focus on balance.  And I apologize for the awkward photos, it’s my first laundry day in the Treehouse since maybe October.  I tell you guys, this thing is already starting to work for me.  🙂

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

