Apartment Therapy Week Two: Heart

I am approaching these tasks at different points in time, so even though my book has me down for Breath next, I have already taken care of my heart of the home work and I am more than ready to share.  Tuesday was a nice day for me.  Tim and I went to the DMV to handle some personal stuff and I had the rest of the day to take care of the house (see yesterday’s post).  Having this rare time to spend at my house and work on it got me to thinking about how much of my personal style goes into the home.  Some people just see their houses as a place to eat, sleep, and shower before they go off to work.  For me, my house used to feel that way.  But now it has become so much more than that.

  • Continue buying flowers.  Maxwell doesn’t mess around in this book when he requests you buy flowers for your home each week.  It’s actually becoming a habit for me, something that I look forward to doing for myself when I go out to do grocery shopping.  I am sure there are some people out there who think the only time flowers come in to a home is if the man brings them to the lady, and honestly, I think I thought like that to.  But the absence of flowers doesn’t spur a man to bring them home each week.  Sometimes, you have to do it for yourself.  And anyway, I know what I like. It makes me happy, kind of empowers me.
  • Determine your style.  This is the first time I have disagreed with Maxwell in the book.  There is a section that gives the reader several suggestions for style, but none of them seemed to fit me very well.  I did know I was more on the traditional side as far as home decor goes, but the subsections just did not make sense to me at all.  So instead of just accepting what was written in the book as truth, I questioned it and sought out guidance in the form of an online questionnaire from HGTV.  After a series of pictures and questions, my style was determined as Romantic.

Elegant yet relaxing. Luxurious fabrics, soft colors, fresh florals. Appeals to all the senses and sets a warm mood.

This hit my personal style on the head!  I have had boyfriends in the past call my style “girly” and negate anything I wanted to do with the home because it wasn’t masculine enough.  Sure, some of my attempts at style were a little cartooney or as Tim likes to put it “college girl.”  The prompt was there, but my style was still developing which led to things feeling off the mark.  Like my old living room design, for example; it was bright and lively, but it was just a little too much.

DSCN1217Geez, remember those days?  I can’t believe it’s almost been a year since I painted this room.  My style was craving something warm and relaxing, but it needed further development to really get it right.

DSC_0571Now the room is more muted and subtly elegant.  There isn’t as much color and extravagance demanding your attention.  I like to call this “grown-up girly.” Now that I have a clear idea of what my style is, I will be able to go forth in the 8 week challenge with more focus when it comes to redecorating my guest room and renovating my kitchen.

So, what’s your style?  Did you  take the quiz and agree with the style or disagree?  Are you keeping up with shopping for flowers this week?  Where are the best places to get your flowers?

I Need Comments to Live! Tell Me What You Think...

